099858F7-E6D4-4826-8BA1-EE3258FFEABE-6CF

Our Story

Groundhog Gardens is an ecological, biointensive market garden situated in the city of Bromont in the Eastern Townships. Founded in 2020, the Gardens are the life project of David Whiteside, founder and owner.

Our mission is to bring flavour, color, and nutrition to your plate. That’s why we grow fresh, seasonal vegetables using ecological growing methods that respect the land and waters.

Our growing techniques are based on reflection and innovation, with the specific goals of regenerating the soil, stimulating biodiversity and keeping rare and heirloom vegetable cultivars in production.

In 2021, we will be growing no fewer than 50 different vegetables and herbs (as well as lots of flowers!) on less than 1 acre.

At the Gardens, we dream of a truly local and ecological food system that creates empowering employment opportunities and rebuilds relationships between urban and rural populations. 

 

We’re working hard to make that dream a reality!

 
garlic.jpg

Our Growing Methods

Groundhog Gardens is committed to maintaining a healthy relationship with the land that nourishes us. We therefore grow without the use of synthetic fertilizers, pesticides, herbicides, or genetically modified organisms (GMOs). That’s how we make sure all our products are high quality and high in nutrients, too. We are currently in the process of receiving organic certification. 

We practice bio-intensive growing methods, which allow us to maximize our crop yield on our small surface area while protecting and regenerating the soil. To learn more about biointensive growing, click here.

Our judicious choice of soil amendments including compost, chicken manure and alfalfa meal, our use of green manures and cover crops, and a strict crop rotation allow us to increase not only our yields, but our soil organic matter and soil life year after year.

We know that successful ecological growing requires not just the ingenuity of the farmer and his workers but the hard work of all the living things on the farm, from the microflora and microfauna that keep our soil productive to the insects that pollinate our crops to the forests around the fields that house countless native species. That’s why we’re constantly learning about how to keep our whole ecosystem happy and healthy. 

Don’t hesitate to contact us and ask about our growing methods at any time.

 

Farmer David

Groundhog Gardens is the life project of David Whiteside, the founder and owner of the farm.

 

After studying Classics at McGill and spending a few years trying to make it as a fine artist, David was looking for a real, sustained contact with the natural world and way to make change in a world that seems to be falling apart.

After a tentative season as a volunteer on a small-scale organic farm, David dove head-first into the farming world. A full-time season at Arlington Gardens, another at Les Jardins de la Grelinette à Saint-Armand, then two season managing the vegetable production at Abbondana Farm...and he felt ready to start his very own farm, Groundhog Gardens, in 2020. He’s hoping to find his peace and happiness in the Gardens... along with his fair share of hard work, and a way to give back to his community.

But he wouldn’t be able to do it without his partner and love of his life, Seif Eddine Hemissi. 

CD857EA6-7DFA-447D-9582-23DA3662FFD9-A10
20200925_154900.jpg

The land we grow on...

As a farmer, I am actively participating in the very long history of human occupation of the land where the Gardens are located. I feel very lucky to be surrounded by a natural environment rich in biodiversity, though heavily impacted by human activity, in particular intensive conventional agriculture. 

I take my responsibility to preserve and protect the health and wellness of the land seriously. The land does not belong to me, but to the planet itself and the future generations of every species that makes its home here. 

I acknowledge that I am growing food on the traditional and unceded territory of the Abenaki Confederacy. Many Abenaki communities have occupied and continue to occupy the area of land bordered by the Richelieu and St. Lawrence Rivers to the west, the Chaudière and Saint Jean Rivers to the worth, and the Atlantic Coast to the south and east. 

To learn more about the Abenaki nations and their history in Québec and New England, check out these websites : 

Native Land (Abenaki)

Musée des Abénakis

caodanak.com/histoire/

The Abenaki in Vermont (VPR)

Groundhog Gardens is also located at the border of two fascinating bioregions, the hardwood forests of the St. Lawrence lowlands and the mixed forests of the Appalachian foothills. You can learn more about the flora and fauna of these two regions on these websites: 

The Canadian Encyclopedia / St. Lawrence Lowland

Nature Conservancy Canada / Appalachian Mixed Forest

Nature Conservancy Canada / The Green Mountains of the North

Finally, Groundhog Gardens is also located in the Yamaska River watershed. I encourage you to learn about the sorry state of the Yamaska River and take action to protect it by clicking here.

Les jardins

Les Jardins de la Marmotte sont une ferme écologique sur petite surface situé à Bromont dans les Cantons de l’Est. Établis en 2020, les Jardins sont le projet de vie de David Whiteside, fondateur et propriétaire de la ferme.

Nous avons comme mission de ramener le goût, la fraîcheur et la santé aux assiettes de nos communautés. À cette fin, nous vous proposons une offre diversifiée de légumes et fines herbes de saison, produit dans le respect de la vie sous toute ses formes.

Notre approche culturale est issue de la réflexion et l’innovation, avec comme buts précis de régénérer les sols, stimuler la biodiversité, et préserver les cultivars de légumes rares et de patrimoine.

En 2021, nous cultiverons pas moins de 50 différents légumes et fines herbes (et vraiment beaucoup de fleurs!) sur moins d’un acre.

Ici aux Jardins, nous rêvons d’un système alimentaire véritablement local et écologique qui crée des emplois valorisants et qui retisse des liens entre les collectivités rurales et les citadins. Nous travaillons fort afin de faire naître un tel système le plus tôt possible.

 

Nos méthodes

de production

Dans le but de préserver de bonnes relations avec la terre qui nous nourrit et afin d’assurer la qualité et la valeur nutritive de nos produits, nous cultivons sans aucun engrais de synthèse, pesticide de synthèse, herbicide, ni organisme génétiquement modifié (OGM). Nous avons débuter les démarches pour la certification biologique.

Nous cultivons en mode bio-intensif. Cela veut dire que notre but est de maximiser le rendement de la superficie de culture, tout en ayant soin de protéger et régénérer le sol. Apprenez-en plus sur la production biointensive en cliquant ici.

Notre utilisation réfléchie d’intrants écologiques tels le compost, le fumier de poule, et la farine de luzerne; notre penchant pour les engrais verts et les cultures de couvertures; ainsi qu’une stricte rotation des cultures sont les facteurs qui nous permettent d'augmenter le taux de matière organique et la vie microbienne du sol d'année en année.

Nous reconnaissons qu’une agriculture réussie dépend non seulement de l’ingénuité du fermier et de ces employés sinon du travail acharné de tous les êtres vivants présents sur la ferme, de la microflore et microfaune qui rendent nos sols fertiles aux insectes qui pollinisent les cultures aux forêts autour des champs qui hébergent de nombreux espèces indigènes.

Nous vous invitons à nous poser des questions sur nos méthodes de production en tout moment. Cliquez ici pour voir nos coordonnées.

 

L’agriculteur

Les Jardins de la Marmotte sont avant tout le projet de vie de David Whiteside, fondateur et propriétaire de la ferme.

 

Après des études en lettres classiques et plusieurs années dans le domaine des beaux-arts, David cherchait un contact réel et soutenue avec la nature et la possibilité de faire un changement positif dans un monde qui devient de plus en plus chaotique.

Après une saison tentative de bénévolat sur une ferme bio sur petite surface, David s’est plongé à pieds joints dans le monde agricole. Une saison complète aux Jardins d’Arlington, une deuxième aux Jardins de la Grelinette à Saint-Armand, deux en tant que Gérant de la production maraîcher de la Ferme Abbondanza . . . et voilà qu’il a fondé Les Jardins de la Marmotte en 2020 ! Il espère y trouver son paix et son contentement . . . et son lot de bon travail fort !

Il faut avouer pourtant qu’il n’est pas tout à fait seul dans le projet : son amoureux Seif Eddine est toujours là pour l’aider-- et pour lui donner des excellents massages en fin de journée.

Le territoire...

En tant qu’agriculteur, je participe activement à la très longue histoire d’occupation humaine du territoire où se trouve la ferme. Je me considère chanceux de cultiver dans un environnement naturel riche en biodiversité, quoique très impactée par l’activité humaine, notamment l’agriculture intensive conventionnelle.

Je prends très au sérieux mon engagement à préserver la santé de cette terre et sa biodiversité. Elle n’appartient pas à moi, sinon à la planète même et aux futures générations de toutes les espèces qui l’occupent.

 

Je reconnais que je cultive une terre qui fait partie du territoire traditionnelle de la Confédération abénaquise. Diverses communautés abénaquises ont et continuent d’occuper le territoire bordé par la rivière Richelieu et le fleuve Saint Laurent à l’est, les rivières Chaudière et Saint Jean vers nord, et la côte Atlantique ver le sud et à l’est.

Pour en apprendre plus sur la nation abénaquise et son histoire au Québec et dans la Nouvelle Angleterre, je vous invite à consulter les sites web suivants :

Native Land (Abenaki)

Musée des Abénakis

caodanak.com/histoire/

La nation abénaquise au Vermont (VPR) en anglais

Les Jardins de la Marmotte sont également situés sur la frontière de deux écorégions fascinantes : les forêts érablières des basses-terres du Saint-Laurent et les forêts mixtes du piémont des Appalaches.

Apprenez-en plus sur la géologie, la flore et la faune de ces régions en consultants les sites web suivants :

L'encyclopédie Canadienne / Basse-terre du Saint-Laurent

Conservation de la nature Canada / Les montagnes Vertes du Nord

Conservation de la nature Canada / La forêt mixte des Appalaches

Enfin, Les Jardins de la Marmotte se trouvent dans le bassin versant de la rivière Yamaska. Je vous invite à vous informer sur le triste état de la rivière Yamaska et passer à l’action pour la protéger en cliquant ici. 

Ici aux Jardins, nous sommes toujours intéressés à en apprendre plus sur notre région et son histoire naturelle et humaine. Si vous avez d’autres ressources à ces sujets, nous vous prions de les partager avec nous !

 
GroundHog-Gardens.JPG

Restez branché-e !

Abonnez-vous à

notre infolettre mensuelle !

239 Chemin de

l'Assomption

Bromont QC J2L 2B3

  • Instagram
  • Facebook