Biointensive Growing

In the 19th century, innovative market gardeners outside of Paris developed an agricultural system that is considered by some the most productive in the history of humanity. The goal of this growing system? To keep the city of Paris, one of the largest in the world at the time, supplied with fresh vegetable the whole year round.

The Parisian market gardeners, known as “maraîchers” because they cultivated the marshes (marais in French) on the outskirts of the city, used horse manure (incredibly abundant in those pre-fossil fuel days) to fertilize their small plots of land. They had to grow vegetables incredibly intensively in order to make a living off of holdings that were often less than one acre in size.

 

Horse manure not only provided the fertility the market gardeners needed to maintain a high level of production, but also an important source of heat for season extension: as it decomposed inside wood-and-glass coldframes, the manure provided heat for starting transplants and even growing out-of-season vegetables. With the help of these compost-heated cold-frames, prototypes of the modern-day hothouse, 19th century growers harvested cauliflowers in February and cantaloupes in May, harvest dates previously unimaginable in the northern French climate.  

biointensive 1.jpg

In North America, Eliot Coleman, founder of Four Seasons Farm in Maine, popularized intensive growing in his books The New Organic Grower, published in multiple editions beginning in 1989. 

More recently, our home-grown hero, Jean-Martin Fortier, published the Market Gardener in 2012, a wonderful manual on small-scale, intensive market gardening, under the flashy new name “biointensive growing”. In the Market Garderner, Jean-Martin and his partner Maude-Hélène Desroches explain how they make living for their family by cultivating 1.5 acres of vegetables at their farm les Jardins de la Grelinette à Saint-Armand, applying 19th-century techniques to their contemporary, north-American reality.

Compost has replaced horse manure, and heated greenhouses made out of galvanized steel and polyethylene have replaced wood-and-glass coldframes. But biointensive growing follows the same principles and uses the same techniques as the 19th century Parisian gardeners: take a small piece of land, build the soil, and garden it hard. 

biointensive 3.jpg
biointensive 4.jpg

Thanks in large part to the Market Gardener, biointensive growing is experiencing a renaissance right now: more and more organic growers, in Québec and around the world, are choosing the biointensive approach. Many young growers appreciate the human scale of biointensive growing, which doesn’t require a tractor—in fact, a tractor can get in the way when you really need to cultivate every square inch of a small piece of land! Biointensive growing is also well adapted to growing high-value, high-demand products like pre-washed, ready-to-eat mesclun and other baby greens. And perhaps best of all, it can be practiced on small pieces of land close to urban centers, a big advantage in our world of ever-increasing real-estate prices.

biointensive 2.jpg

Some of these market gardeners’ descendants were able to keep growing in their suburban plots into the 1960s, but most had to abandon farming at the city of Paris grew and swallowed up their land. The advent of fossil fuels and tractors in the postwar era also hastened the decline of the suburban market gardens. Fresh products could be more easily transported long distances, and tractors and synthetic fertilizers made extensive, industrial-scale growing cheaper and easier than labour-intensive, manure-fuelled growing. 

But the Parisian growers didn’t disappear without leaving us a record of their techniques, notably in the form of the Manuel pratique de la culture maraîchère de Paris, a guide born out of a competition held in 1842 that offered a cash reward for the best book on Parisian market-gardening techniques. The tradition of intensive market gardening was also transmitted from farmer to farmer right down to the present day.

La production biointensive

Au 19ème siècle, à Paris, des cultivateurs très innovants ont développé un système agricole parfois appelé le plus productif dans l’histoire de l’humanité. La raison d’être de ce système agricole ? Fournir la ville de Paris, alors la deuxième plus grande ville au monde, en légumes frais à l’année. 

Les maraîchers de Paris, ainsi appelés parce qu’ils cultivaient les marais aux alentours de la ville, se sont servi de fumier de cheval, extrêmement abondant à l’époque, pour fertiliser leurs petites parcelles, qu’ils devaient cultiver très intensivement afin d’en tirer un revenu. 

Le fumier de cheval assurait non seulement la fertilité des sols, mais servait comme source de chaleur pour l’extension de la saison de croissance. Enfermé dans des « couches froides » construites en bois et vitre, le fumier réchauffait l’air et le sol autour des plants qu’y était cultivé à mesure qu’il se décomposait. À l’aide de leurs couches froides chauffées au fumier, protoypes de la serre chauffée moderne, les maraîchers parisiens récoltaient des choux-fleurs au mois de février, des melons charentais au mois de mai, du jamais vu dans le climat du nord de la France. 

biointensive 1.jpg

Dans le contexte nord-américain, c’est Eliot Coleman, fondateur de Four Seasons Farm dans l’état de Maine, qui s’est inspiré des techniques maraîchères parisiennes et les a popularisés par le biais de ses manuels The New Organic Grower, publié en plusieurs éditions à partir de 1989. 

Plus récemment, Jean-Martin Fortier, un fils du Québec, a élaboré encore un manuel exemplaire sur le maraîchage désormais appelé « bio-intensif ». Dans le Jardinier-Maraîcher, Jean-Martin et Maude-Hélène Desroches, fondateurs des Jardins de la Grelinette à Saint-Armand, nous expliquant comment ils ont réussi à faire vivre leur famille en cultivant 1.5 acres de légumes de manière intensive, ayant adapté les techniques de Parisiens du 19ème au contexte contemporain et nord-américain.

Le compost remplace le fumier de cheval, et les serres chauffées en acier inox et polyéthylène font office de couches froides. Mais la culture maraîchère « bio-intensive » est sensiblement le même système de culture que celui développé  par les maraîchers parisiens du 19ème. 

biointensive 3.jpg
biointensive 4.jpg

Grâce en grande partie au Jardinier-Maraîcher, la culture bio-intensive vie une renaissance en ce moment : de plus en plus de fermes maraîchères biologiques, au Québec comme partout dans le monde, choisissent l’approche bio-intensive. Plusieurs cultivateurs en herbe apprécient l’échelle humaine de la production bio-intensive, qui peut se pratiquer sans tracteur. De plus, il est bien adapté à la production de produits à haute valeur et de haute demande tel le mesclun et autres verdurettes prélavées. Enfin, il peut se pratiquer sur de petites terres à proximité des centres urbains, un avantage très important dans un monde ou les prix immobiliers ne cessent d’augmenter.

biointensive 2.jpg

Certains des descendants ces jardiniers ont réussi à poursuivre leurs activités jusqu’aux années 1960, mais la plupart on dû abandonner la culture maraîchère à mesure que la Ville de Paris s’agrandissait et avalait leurs terres. L’arrivée du tracteur et des énergies fossiles ont également contribué au déclin des jardins à proximité du centre urbain de Paris; il était plus simple et moins dispendieux de produire de légumes de manière extensive à l’échelle industrielle et de les transporter partout dans le pays, voir le monde. 

Mais les maraîchers Parisiens n’ont pas disparu sans nous  légué un manuel assez complet de leurs techniques de production, Manuel pratique de la culture maraîchère de Paris, issu d’une compétition pour la rédaction d’un tel manuel tenue en 1842. De plus, la tradition de la culture maraîchère intensive s’est transmis de cultivateur en cultivateur jusqu’à nos jours.